Historicals – 20http://susanpagedavis.com/wp-admin/post-new.php?post_type=page12


 Captive Trail

New edition from Tea Tin Press

In Captive Trail, Taabe Waipu has run away from her Comanche village and is fleeing south in Texas on a horse she stole from a dowry left outside her family’s teepee. The horse has an accident and she is left on foot, injured and exhausted. She staggers onto a road near Fort Chadbourne and collapses. On one of the first runs through Texas,

Butterfield Overland Mail Company driver Ned Bright carries two Ursuline nuns returning to their mission station. They come across a woman who is nearly dead from exposure and dehydration and take her to the mission. With some detective work, Ned discovers Taabe Waipu’s identity. He plans to unite her with her family, but the Comanche have other ideas, and the two end up defending the mission station. Through Taabe and Ned we learn the true meaning of healing and restoration amid seemingly powerless situations.

*This book won the 2012 Will Rogers Medallion for Excellence in Western Fiction and was a finalist in the WILLA Awards and the ACFW Carol Awards.

“Ms. Davis really makes you feel the heat and the dust and the danger.  Every one of her characters seems to come alive, and it is like actually being there in Texas with them.” (Reviewer Vic Gentile, posted Nov. 28, 2011 on Vic’s Media Room.

“This book will grab you from the beginning and not let go!” (Reviewer Diana Flowers, posted Oct. 20, 2011 on various sites) “…a wonderful romantic suspense starring a strong cast that brings to life Antebellum Texas.” (Reviewer Harriet Klausner, posted July 30, 2011 on various sites)

CAPTIVE TRAIL was first published in 2012 as second in the Texas Trails series. This series of six books was  written by authors Susan Page Davis, Darlene Franklin, and Vickie McDonough. Each story continues the Morgan family saga, but may be read as standalones. The paperbacks in the original version can still be found on Amazon. They are: Book 1, by Darlene, Lone Star Trail. After Susan’s Captive Trail comes Vickie’s The Long Trail Home. Book 4 is Darlene’s A Ranger’s Trail, followed by Susan’s Cowgirl Trail, and finally, Vickie’s End of the Trail.

Order from Amazon
Order Kindle version from Amazon


Cowgirl Trail COWGIRL TRAIL is Book 5 in the Texas Trails series. Maggie Porter returns home to her father’s ranch to find him ill and his cowboys on the verge of calling a strike. Alex Bright was a young cowboy when she left home, but he’s the foreman now. What has happened to put him at odds with her father? Will he really take sides with the men, against the owner of the ranch? Maggie can’t let him know she loves him—not if he’s her adversary now. When the whole outfit walks off the job during the spring roundup, Maggie must take desperate measures. She calls on her friends to put on their split skirts and take to the trail with her. After the roundup, the impasse with the men continues, and the ladies set out to drive the cattle to the stockyards in Fort Worth. But what are the men up to? Seems some of them will do anything to keep the cowgirl crew from succeeding. Is Alex in on the annoying pranks? Maggie’s limits are tested when someone sabotages the herd.

Review of Cowgirl Trail “I really like westerns, and Ms. Davis really knows how to write a Western. If you enjoy history like I do then this book is for you… Cowgirl Trail continues being all about families and relationships and that is what makes this book a winner.” —Reviewer Vic Gentile, posted July 29, 2012 on Vic’s Media Room “This is a must read for lovers of western romances. Susan Page Davis does not disappoint in this book 5 of the Morgan Family series!” —reviewer Ruth Stiles on Amazon

The new Kindle version is coming soon from Tea Tin Press.

Order paperback from Amazon

Other books in the series:

LoneStarTrail_sm LongTrailHome_sm RangersTrail_sm EndofTrail



Almost Home

Patricia Logan leaves her friend’s party in Denver and heads for home at her uncle’s ranch. Her ride is sidelined by the Blizzard of 1913. A chance meeting with Jared Booker, an old friend, prompts Patricia to beg for a lift. They set out on horseback and become snowbound for two days in a shack with a crotchety midwife and their past. Can they rekindle their old camaraderie and see it transform into lasting love?

Originally printed in the Snowbound Colorado Christmas collection, this novella is now an electronic book for just 99 cents. Read the related stories in the AlmostHome_lgcollection (see below). Almost Home is also included in the e-book collection, Frontier Hearts.Mountain Christmas Brides Sep 2016

Love this story! So descriptive, I felt like I was there. A great read!” —reviewer Lisa M. Bryant, on Amazon

This book is now part of the Mountain Christmas Brides Collection.